Love!!

June 19, 2008 at 9:35 am (Addlepatedness, Hannah's Little Blog)

For the past two years, I have been infatuated, enamored, and otherwise emotionally attached to a sewing machine. I always talk about her, (forgive the personal pronouns, I speak of my piano in the same fashion) but I have never shown pictures of this beautiful fixture in my life. I purchased her at Levengood’s for the pittance of $55, but I wouldn’t trade her for any computerized, button-laden, fancy new model. On the outside, she looks like a carousel pony, but the inside is a workhorse. Every piece (except screws, foot, bobbin case, & plate) is cast iron. That of course inhibits taking her to many places, but- what a joy to oil! I always marvel about how simply  they used to make these….and I am now addicted to Singer love. Now I need to get a treadle. (this one is electric) You know, the kind that comes in a cabinet with little drawers…. but for now I am happy with this one.

 

 

9 Comments

  1. joshuamm said,

    What is it?

  2. joshuamm said,

    j/k that’s pretty cool -not that I would want one or anything…

  3. MennoGirl said,

    You don’t want to be like Motel?

  4. joshuamm said,

    “Wonder of wonders, miracle of miracles-
    God took up Daniel once again,
    Stood by his and side and- miracle of miracles-
    Walked him through the lions den!…”

    :D

  5. MennoGirl said,

    Yeah, that Motel.

  6. jessyroo said,

    Oh, these comments are making me laugh! After we watched “Fiddler on the Roof” for the first time, we teased about how horrified my dad would have been if Ransom would have come to him and said, “Mr. Rickel, I’m saving up for my own sewing machine…your daughter will NOT starve!!” Ha, ha!

  7. MennoGirl said,

    “Even a poor tailor is entitled to SOME happiness!”
    I have learned why the label for a woman who sews professionally is seamSTRESS!

  8. joshuamm said,

    ROFL!!! I would love to see Ransom do that… And then the look on your dad’s face… that would have been a priceless moment…

    …hmm… maybe I’ll use that line as an icebreaker when I finally meet a girl and go talk with her dad… hopefully I won’t get thrown out of the house :D

  9. Aaron said,

    But the butcher has more money!

Leave a Reply

