I Needa My Pita

June 17, 2008 at 3:54 pm (Doings, Hannah's Little Blog)

 

 I know that was lame, but I couldn’t resist.

Yesterday I tried making pita bread for the first time. I love Greek food (why? I honestly don’t know) and all during our trip, I was growing quite impatient to go home & try a recipe. Like most of the stuff I make, it turned out looking weird, but the good part about that is: pita bread is supposed to look weird. Score! Fill it with tomatoes, lettuce, & vinaigrette, (for lack of anything more Greek-ish) and you have the perfect wannabe gyro! (yee-row) Now I need to try spanakopita. (spinach /w feta in phyllo dough) I also want to make biscotti. I’m sorry, I’m not sure why this entry is nothing but culinary ramblings…. maybe because Williams-Sonoma was very inspiring. Imagine, $300 French enameled cookware.

 

4 Comments

  1. ridgefilmmaker said,

    Hey I love those Pita bread…. things, very good. you should make them for our next Costume Party….. or something like that.

  2. jessyroo said,

    Hannah, I didn’t know you enjoyed trying new and different recipes. I’m totally with you on the $300 enameled cookware. And isn’t that so wonderfully feminine?! What guy would understand a $300 anything for the kitchen. On the other hand, we don’t understand their $300 + expenditures on their shop/car/project, etc. So, I guess we’re all even. :)

    If you’re looking for an interesting biscotti recipe, go to http://femina.reformedblogs.com/2008/03/11/biscotti-bidoddy/. You may enjoy purusing the other recipes on this blog as well. If you try it, let me know how it turns out!

  3. MennoGirl said,

    Thanks!!

  4. Aaron said,

    I used to get these really good Greek lamb sandwiches at the fair in California.

Leave a Reply

