I’m Still on the Planet

June 12, 2008 at 12:13 pm (Doings, Hannah's Little Blog)

Don’t ask which one.

Well, on Sat. we got together /w my mom’s cousins, and the next two nights as well. It really was neat to see all those different people and think “wow, we’re all family!” I’ll post pix when I get home. On the last night, it probably took  30 minutes to get out of there. 34th rule of Hannah’s Universe: Brubakers hug. And hug and hug and… you get the idea. They really are sweet people. Tuesday was Uncle Will’s funeral, and my first viewing. That was kind of weird, but it drives home the fact that he isn’t there any more. I hated the hot, dry weather out there, but the town is kind of cute. We stopped at Schat’s Bakkery (yes, that’s how it’s spelled) and got some goodies there. Yesterday, on our way to Rancho, we passed the turn-off to Bakersfield. You have to wonder about the sanity of folks who build towns out in the desert. We went through several towns that looked like little wind-blown junk piles. Ugg. I’m not sure if it was pyrite, beer bottles, or my reeling mind, but something was glittering on the ground. Odd. We passed by the borax mines too. I had the headphones on, listening to my Moravian/Shaker choral CD. Man, peaceful music like that works better than a pill when you’re the sweatiest, most bored person on earth. Last night I got to see my great-grandpa (Ernie) Pop Vestal. He is the sweetest lil’ ol’ thing that you’ve ever met. Well, none of you have met him, but I have. He’s 88, and took us on a long walk around the park, along with his Chihuahua, Blacki. I think his favorite phrase is “wall… how ’bout dat?” It’s been fun seeing relatives that I don’t normally get to spend time with, but I am going to be VERY ready for my home. And if any of you catch me bad-mouthing where I live ever again, feel free to slap me. I heard (and saw pictures) of the snow that fell at home. That is quite odd. I wish I hadn’t of missed it, but that made me think of a Keith Green song, (doesn’t everything?) so I’ll close with that.

Summer Snow

 by Keith Green

Unexpectedly, you came back to see,
If I was waiting, like I promised long before.
Your shadow filled the room, the music changed it’s tune,
When I saw you, you were standing at the door.

Like summer snow, You were an unexpected sight.
A blazing sun, you were shining in the night,
When I really should have known, that you’d be coming home.

I waited patiently, but I found it hard to see,
If you were coming, why was there such a long delay.
At times I thought you lied, or else you would have tried,
To let me know that you were coming home today.

Like summer snow, it falls around me in the cold.
I can hear the echoes, of the warnings I was told.
That I should know, that you’d be coming home.
Like summer snow, You were an unexpected sight.

A blazing sun, you were shining in the night,
When I really should have known, that you’d be coming home.
Unexpectedly, you came back to see…

18 Comments

  1. joshuamm said,

    “Yesterday, on our way to Rancho, we passed the turn-off to Bakersfield. You have to wonder about the sanity of folks who build towns out in the desert.”

    Are you insinuating that my intelligence is substandard to the national average?
    Or are you calling me stupid?

    Bakersfield may be in the middle of a dessert, but you wouldn’t know it once you were there :D

    Who is this Keith Green guy? Sounds like more country western stuff…
    Interesting song, it didn’t seem to talk about snow too much for being called “summer snow”. With a name like that you would assume that it would talk about snowing in the summer and snowflakes melting on the hot pavement and snowmen drifting down the street like so much slush and yada yada…

    I guess you have to wonder about the sanity of people who write a song called summer snow that talks about everything but summer snow… :p

    (hehe, you knew I couldn’t let that opportunity slide by :D )

    Enjoy the rest of your stay and I hope you guys all have a safe trip back.

    God bless,
    Joshua

  2. joshuamm said,

    Hah! I had the 1st comment for once!

  3. joshuamm said,

    And the 2nd and 3rd!

  4. joshuamm said,

    …I so won the battle for being first to comment on a new post…

    …not that anyone is counting, but it makes me feel better inside… lol

    ok. enough. i have work to do. later

    (that was 4th too btw) :D

  5. megancomstock said,

    Hannah, Maybe you can go to my blog since it probably doesn’t block it on the computer your on! Hannah I want you home!!!!!!! I miss you!!!!!! Call me:)

  6. MennoGirl said,

    You people LOVE ME!! (sniff) I’m so touched. Yes Josh, Keith Green was a Californian. No Josh, Keith Green isn’t country. Megan, I miss you too!!!!!!!!! Love ya
    By the way Josh, you spelled desert wrong. Ha ha

  7. ridgefilmmaker said,

    You came that close to Bakerfield? GRRR I’v know Josh for 2 years. and YOU came that close to him? but if you had seen him, then I’d………… never mined. I missed you all and can’t wait tell you get back. Have fun, stay out of troble, and……… yeah that’s it.
    (-;}

  8. MennoGirl said,

    Have you EVER known ME to get in TROUBLE?!?! Actually, don’t answer that one…
    (guilty grin) And it isn’t like I was that close to Josh… I’d say 40 something miles. Oh, to be in the Flathead! Makes me think of the song, you know, 10,000 miles.

  9. ridgefilmmaker said,

    Yeah! Fernando Otega Right? Love that song,

  10. ridgefilmmaker said,

    Well Sonuds like you’al are haveing fun down there, can’t wait’l you’al get back, then we can really start bloggen. Well that is if I have the time……. which never do.
    O I’m working on the schedule for the next Costume Party. I’m not sure wht I’ll call it. but I’ll think. any suggestions?….anyone?

  11. MennoGirl said,

    1. That wasn’t Ortega. It’s an Appalachian folk song that I heard sung by…… uh, I forget, but it was some country-western gal. Hmmmm…
    2. Kids Getting Together With Nothing Better To Do Than To Make Themselves Look Bizarre and Ridiculous. Any takers? I see not. I honestly don’t know what to call it, as I think just about everyone will be from a different time period. I guess there’s still time.

  12. MennoGirl said,

    Guess what? I have now had 100 comments! (not counting this one) Of course, some of them are from me anyway….. you have to wonder about the sanity of girls who go around in fruity skirts talking to themselves. Megan, I finished my fruity skirt!! I’ll post pix when I get home. Home. Home. Home……

  13. megancomstock said,

    You already told me Hannah. But I’m looking forward to seeing it, but you more! I like your name for the party, it sound right::)

  14. ridgefilmmaker said,

    100 comments? wow I wounder how many I have? I’ll go count. but he it lok like your blog is picking up the traffic. thats great, and we didn’t even have to say something debating, to start all of this thats great. everybody doing good. No mean comment, no angry words, no debates, I lie to see that, it’s good.

  15. MennoGirl said,

    I don’t remember how, but a few days ago I found that you had 310, or something like that. Debates are better in person. so much miscommunication happens in text, it’s not even funny.

  16. joshuamm said,

    Congrats on your accomplishment… I think I’m approaching 50 comments on mine… (now I gotta keep up).

    *I must digress to my communication academic instruction*

    Order of miscommunication opportunity
    1. text, especially electronic text
    2. phone
    3. in person

    And the reason is because the amount of non-verbal communication is reduced the higher you go on that list. Nonverbal comm is like 70% of communication between people. That’s visual non verbals, audible non verbals, and various other non verbals…

    *now Joshua is back*
    yeah, it’s terrible how much badly things get mangled in written communication, especially emotions. people can read all kinds of emotions into a letter or something that aren’t even there.

  17. megancomstock said,

    hANNAH i COUNTED i HAVE 71 COMMENTS!!!!!!!!!!!! hAVE YOU EVER WRITTEN WITH THE CAPS LOCK ON? iT IS SO FUN. iT LOOKS SO FUNNY. haNNAH SEE YOU LATER!!!!

  18. MennoGirl said,

    Sit down, drink something cool, have a foot massage, and see me in the morning.

Leave a Reply

