Fun Pictures!

May 22, 2008 at 6:36 pm (Hannah's Little Blog)

The fine looking young man who gets the coveted spot on my blog is none other than my late grandpa, Mark Brubaker, when he was 17. I’ve been scanning in old family pictures, and has that ever been fun! I’ve also got one that I’ll put on the next post. Beware though, it’s a wee bit odd. I also of recently had the priviledge to type his CPS diary. It was from 1945, when he was 21-22 years old. Some of the things he wrote about were so funny. Maybe I’ll start including excerpts. Today my Grandma & Grandpa come, so I better get busy. Auf Weidersehen

2 Comments

  1. jessyroo said,

    Forgive my ignorance, but what does CPS stand for? My first thought was Child Protective Services, but somehow, I don’t think that’s correct. :)

    Isn’t family history fun? I know a bit about your mom’s family background; what about your dad’s?

  2. MennoGirl said,

    I believe that CPS stood for Civilian Public Service. Grandpa was a Conscientious Objector (we wouldn’t fight in WWII) so he, along with many other Mennonites & Amish, went around the country to work for farmers, mental institutions, construction, etc. This really helped because the work force was down.

Leave a Reply

