My Favorite “Green” Project

May 21, 2008 at 9:21 pm (Hannah's Little Blog)

This is what I think I would consider my all-time favorite “green” project. It is fun, recycling. (and waterproof) You need: plastic grocery bags, self-healing quilt mat, rotary grid, rotary cutter, and a brain. Luckily, the brain doesn’t play a huge part, because of how easy it is to do.  First, flatten your bag on the mat. Then, position your grid over it, so that the top & bottom of bag are not covered. Slice off ends. Throw away the top & bottom. (they’re junk) slice up the rest of the bag at 1″ intervals. You should get about 12 pieces. Open them up, and they are big O’s. Put 1 O over another, and hitch them together. Pull tight & repeat /w other O’s. Then roll into a ball. You will need to do this to lots of bags if you want to make anything. String can be crocheted, or if you are a particularly adventurous soul, knitted. Have fun!

4 Comments

  1. jessyroo said,

    My favorite post from you yet! How very resourceful. And the best thing is plastic bags are FREE! I betcha we could get folks to give us their extra plastic bags to make our collections grow more quickly.

    Right now, I’m collecting old denim clothing to be made into totes and maybe a few other things. When the material is re-purposed and free, it makes the project even more exciting…to me at least. Perhaps I’m just in the save-money-to-build-house stage, and free stuff is more exciting than it really should be. :)

  2. ridgefilmmaker said,

    That’s great. I like to use those for defusing my lights when I’m filming. they make great parishoots for JIJOES. you can kill yourself with them….. never tried that one…. but useing things (that normely get thrown away) for creative things…. like crocheing, is great I love seeing things like that. I might try crocheing some time…….No No, i don’t think so. (-;}

  3. MennoGirl said,

    You know… the library has a book called The Manly Art Of Knitting. It actually has interesting guy projects like a knitted hammock, horse blanket, etc. Many “womanly” arts were originally in the man’s realm. Think of tailors. Most of them were men! Maybe I’m weird, but I like to learn that kind of history/trivia.

  4. jessyroo said,

    I know this post is old, but I just had to comment on it one more time, seeing that the topic of men doing handwork came up. I have a little story to tell. We moved to MT in October, and for Thanksgiving that year, a family with five boys came to visit us. My sister, Paige, who was seven-years-old at the time, taught three of those boys to crochet during their visit. We have a hilarious picture of them sitting on the couch all very deeply engaged in their new-found art form.

Leave a Reply

