My Weekend

May 19, 2008 at 5:02 pm (Hannah's Little Blog)

 Chimayo

by Fernando Ortega

I have seen the golden summer light
Flicker in the trees,
In the orchard where the long grass
Sways in the breeze.
In the shade across the fence
An old man in a chair
Dreams of the names and faces
Who’ve been there.

But lately I have seen you fading
As the world is changing,
As the seasons fly.
Still my heart in secret
Holds on to the deepest colors
Of the earth and sky.

In the graying of the year
When leaves and sunlight fall,
Make the shadows of the orchard
Deep and tall.
Then the winter comes and covers
All that does not move
Underneath the Sangre Cristo
Stars and moon.

But I will come and find you
When the spring unbinds you
Singing of an older time,
Still my heart in secret
Holding to the deepest colors
Of the earth and sky.

Hello ya’lls. I had what could be considered a very pleasant weekend.The concert went well, and Sunday was GORGEOUS. After church, the Comstocks and our family /w my cousins & Matthew Underhill, went to Echo Lake. Megan & I swam across the lake. That was fun. We had gone under a couple weeks ago, but the water was still quite chilly. Now it’s nice. We went to the island, and saw some new goslings. Their mother was not at all pleased with our presence. Us three girls took a turn at canoeing around the lake, and we found that we are pretty lame at that. We (M. & I) are starting to get down to the wire /w plans for our party. We still haven’t figured out how we are going to aquire logs and rocks for the events, and I need to finish my costume. (EEG!) Today is that dentist appointment I spoke of earlier. I really don’t like the dentist (or any Dr., for that matter) but hopefully this will be the last time I need to see him for a LONG time. I need to go sew a bit, so bye bye.

P.S. I’m sorry I lost some comments. I switched my format here, and didn’t know it would foul things up like that. You are welcome to make up for it, though.

P.P.S. Honk if you like Ortega

4 Comments

  1. ridgefilmmaker said,

    Swam acossed the lake. nice! if I could swem a little better I might try that. but I’m aslo scard of water. oops did I say that out load? Hey every one has I weekness right. any way nice blog….. i still like the first design better. but what is my oppnion

  2. joshuamm said,

    HONK!
    Fernando Ortega is great! Listening to him right now… “I Remember Thy Word”

    PS: Your format is cutting off some of the words on your post. Like a misaligned copy machine… you’ve got like 5 character or something going beyond the right side of the page, and I can’t see them… And your first theme was better IMO

  3. MennoGirl said,

    Scared of water…I’ll have to remember that. (wicked laughter) That “copy machine” thing you mentioned is driving me NUTS (like everything else) I HATE this yucky black background! I want my pretty wallpaper ba-a-a-ck! (sob)I need to talk to dad about this, because he’s good at computer Feng-Shui, and (as I’ve mentioned before) I’m completely clueless. May complete sentences prevail!!!

  4. ridgefilmmaker said,

    wow I like the way you have you blog set up. I can’t sem to have the same settings on my blog to do al that nice stuff…. I geuss I’ll have to kep trying. I can’t do pictures. or music. or anything like that.. I wounder if I have A buisness blog. and not pesonal.. don’t know

Leave a Reply

